Similar to several other baths in Budapest, Király Bath was also built during the Turkish occupation of Hungary during the second half of the 16th century. It has retained its original layout ever since, although several annexes were added to it during the 18th century. This eclectic solution lends a unique air to Király Bath.
The construction of the Bath was started by Arslan, Pasha of Buda in 1565 and was completed by his successor, Sokoli Mustafa. Király Bath had no direct hot water base at the time, nor has any today. The Turks built the Bath far from the springs to ensure the opportunity for bathing even in the case of an eventual siege, within the walls of the castle. The water was supplied at time, and is still being supplied, from the area of the current Lukács Bath. After Buda returned to Hungarian rule, the Bath was acquired by the König family in 1796. They rebuilt it to its current form, combining the old with the new, and preserving its historical character. The name of the Bath stems from the name of the family (Király=King=König). In World War II, the Bath was damaged. Its complete renovation was accomplished in 1950.