City guide

Pesti Vigadó

Photo : Balkányi László - We Love Budapest

Designed by Frigyes Feszl, the Pesti Vigadó was unveiled in 1865, replacing the Redoute concert hall that had stood here 30 years earlier. Franz Liszt and Johann Strauss the younger and older all appeared here before the building was destroyed during the War of Independence from Austria in 1848-49. With the rebuild, this renowned institution regained its international prestige. Not only did Brahms, Debussy and Dvořák perform here, and Liszt numerous times, but Arctic explorers and pioneers of early aviation all gave presentations. When Louis Blériot wanted to show the Hungarian public the plane in which he made the first ever crossing of the English Channel, the Vigadó on the Danube Promenade was the perfect showcase. Seriously damaged in World War II, this venerable landmark only reopened in 1980. In 2004, a complete reconstruction restored the building to its original glory, providing a venue for exhibitions, concerts, theatrical events and films. As the English-language guided tour will demonstrate, the panoramic terrace provides unique views of Buda Castle and Citadella. If you get hungry, the Vígvarjú Restaurant offers daily lunch specials and Hungarian classics.

Opening hours
Monday10:00-19:00-
Tuesday10:00-19:00-
Wednesday10:00-19:00-
Thursday10:00-19:00-
Friday10:00-19:00-Open now
Saturday10:00-19:00-
Sunday10:00-19:00-
 
PHONE : +3613283300
EMAIL :