Nils Mönkemeyer (D) & Kelemen Quartet

Photo : Emmer László
Kelemen Kvartett

Since forming in 2010, Kelemen Quartet have piled success on success: they have given concerts all over the world and collected many prizes esteemed internationally. As the Liszt Academy’s ‘resident orchestra’ this year, the quartet are giving a series of concerts with the title At Home in the Liszt Academy, in the course of which audiences can enjoy string quartet compositions as well as many other works featuring fascinating instrument line-ups. The choice of title is spot on since Barnabás Kelemen, Katalin Kokas, Gábor Homoki and László Fenyő are all closely linked to their alma mater. They combine chamber works of Johannes Brahms born 185 years ago with string quartets, bringing to the surface exciting coherence. Their concert in January gets off the ground with Schubert’s String Quartet Movement in C minor, which saw the light of day as the opening movement of an uncompleted composition. The String Quartet in A minor (op. 132), a late work by Beethoven, is a core composition of the chamber repertoire. The Brahms String Quintet in G major was written in 1890 when he was in his late 50s. It was originally intended to be his final work, serving as a summary of his career. There are Hungarian-style motifs in the closing movement. Kelemen Quartet are joined in the performance of this quintet by viola player Nils Mönkemyer, professor at the Musikhochschule Munich.

Opening hours
PHONE : +3614624600